Austin, Dulles and George Ranch land 20-6A basketball awards


District 20-6A’s top three women’s basketball teams combined to win its four awards, as voted on by district coaches. Co-champion Austin earned two honors after the best season in school history.

Senior Gabby Johnson was recognized as Most Valuable Player and rookie Andrea Sturdivant was named Newcomer of the Year after leading the Bulldogs to a 29-6 record and their first regional championship.

Johnson finished a stellar four-year college career with a team-high 17.8 points, 9.9 rebounds and 1.9 blocks per game, as well as 2.2 steals and 1.5 assists while shooting 43 % ground. She had 15 double-doubles, highlighted by 26 points, 11 rebounds and eight steals against Jersey Village, as well as a combined 49 points and 37 rebounds in two district games against Ridge Point.

Sturdivant averaged 17.1 points and 4.0 rebounds while leading the team with 3.5 assists and 3.1 steals per game, making 31% of his three-point attempts, in his impressive college debut . She had 34 points against Stratford, had 10 assists against Ridge Point and finished with 26 points and eight steals against Friendswood.

The Bulldogs finished 13-1 in 20-6A, tying 2021 champion Dulles, and defeated Cinco Ranch 63-50 and Memorial 62-48 to win their first regional championship.

George Ranch lead point guard Savannah Velasquez won the offensive MVP 20-6A, capping her own outstanding career by leading the Longhorns to a 19-12 record and the playoffs. George Ranch went 9-5 for the No. 3 seed in the 20-6A playoffs and took 19-6A co-champion Tompkins into overtime, trailing Velasquez’s 15 points.

Dulles senior Dai Dai Powell was 20-6A Defensive MVP after posting a career-high 10.5 points, along with 3.6 rebounds, 1.9 assists, 2.9 steals and 1.0 blocks to cap off an impressive four-year college career. She had a record 20 points against Atascocita and recorded a double-double against Marshall with 13 points and 11 steals.

Dulles followed his 24-1 season with a 27-7 record and an even deeper playoff streak. The Vikings took the No. 2 seed in the playoffs and defeated Katy 51-47, defending regional champion Cypress Creek 55-42 and Tompkins 64-59 to reach the Region III-6A tournament for the first times since 2009.

The Vikings had three selections from all first-team districts as seniors Jakiaya Thompson (8.9 points, 3.2 rebounds, 2.7 steals, 1.8 assists), Nya Threatt (15.9 points, 4.6 rebounds, 4.1 assists, 4.3 steals) and Peyton Overton (10.3 points, 5.9 rebounds, 1.8 assists, 1.7 steals) is in the lead group.

Austin was represented on the first team by junior Kelechi Dike, who averaged 6.7 points, 7.3 rebounds, 1.7 steals and 0.9 blocks. George Ranch had two first teams in senior Rachel Okoye and junior Lauren Stevens.

Elkins senior Zaya Adagbada and sophomore Maddie Rhea made the first team after leading the Knights to the playoffs, breaking a fourth-place tie with Ridge Point. The Knights finished 11-17 but won three of the last four games to rally to a playoff spot.

Bush had two first-team selections with rookie Jadesyn Hardeman and second Crystal Schultz. Hardeman averaged 8.3 points, 2.4 rebounds and 1.5 steals, while Schultz led the Broncos with 16.7 points, 4.6 rebounds, 2.0 assists and 3.3 steals per game.

Travis senior Kentarah Upchurch and Clements senior Jenna Ferguson represented their teams in the 20-6A first team after strong seasons. The Tigers tied the Broncos for sixth place, while the Rangers took the win over Bush, led by Ferguson’s 21 points.


MVP: Gabby Johnson, father, Austin

Offensive MVP: Savannah Velasquez, Sr., George Ranch

Defensive MVP: Dai Dai Powell, Sr., Dulles

Newcomer of the year: Andrea Sturdivant, Father, Austin

first team

Zaya Adagbada, Sr., Elkins

Kelechi Dike, Jr., Austin

Jenna Ferguson, Sr., Clements

Jadesyn Hardeman, Father, Bush

Rachel Okoye, Sr., George Ranch

Peyton Overton, Sr., Dulles

Maddie Rhea, Soph., Elkins

Crystal Schultz, Sophie, Bush

Lauren Stevens, Jr., George Ranch

Jakiaya Thompson, Sr., Dulles

Nya Threatt, Sr., Dulles

Kentarah Upchurch, Sr., Travis

second team

Kambree Adams, Father, Bush

Edyn Breaux, Sophie, Ridge Point

Cecily Callegari, Jr., Elkins

Alima Diop, Sr., Dulles

Aminah Dixon, Father, Austin

Leslie Forun, Jr., George Ranch

Callie Goodly, Jr., Travis

India Jackson, Jr., Austin

Morgan King, Jr., George Ranch

Kennedi Mays, Jr., Travis

Chelsea Osamar, father, Bush

Syndey Person, Father, Ridge Point

Grace Smith, Sr., Ridge Point

Honorable mention

Brittney Adeck, Sr., Austin

Hope Adekunic, Jr., Bush

Amara Allen, Travis

Paris Anderson, Sophie, Elkins

Praise Chidi, Travis

Sincerely Cobbin, Soph., Bush

Hannah Cornelius, Sr., Elkins

Taylor Gerard, Soph., Dulles

Ashley Howard, Sr., Ridge Point

Kayli Johnson, Sr., Dulles

Amber Kirkpatrick, Sr., Austin

Jordyn Mays, Travis

Kathleen Mbatchou, Sr., Elkins

Sasha McCants, Sr., Ridge Point

Isabella Rebueno, Sr., Austin

Logan Riley, Sophie, George Ranch

Gbemisola Samuel, Sr., Bush


Comments are closed.